Slack Notifications - Status missing info

(I’m new to the CircleCI platform, so please correct me if any assumptions below are incorrect)

We’ve recently been notified that the “legacy Slack Notification settings will not be available in the new UI” via this post.

I attempted to follow step 1 (“Remove the Slack webhook url from the legacy chat notification page”) by editing the URL to contain our organization name and project names. However I cannot seem to get to the old UI. Clicking on links on this page results in the following message:

Error! GraphQL error: Received a 404 from the /api/v2/project/github/ORG/PROJECT/envvar api.

I’ve decided to skip that step for now.

I’ve enabled the new Slack integration as per step 2, but the new integration seems to be missing a lot of information that made the status notifications useful.

Here’s what the old and new notifications look like:

old_vs_new

Notice the lack of links to the repo, branch, and commit as well as it not showing the commit message or author.

I’ve looked at the documentation for the orb here but I don’t see any way to have it show all of the information that the old integration used to show.

Am I missing something here?

2 Likes

Hi @Justin-Credible. Welcome to the CircleCI community!

Try temporarily switching to the legacy UI (as outline here) before attempting to access the URL https://circleci.com/gh/ORGNAME/PROJECTNAME/edit#hooks

The linked Support article also explains how to go back to the new UI.

In case you’re still having trouble removing the Slack webhook url from the legacy chat notification page, please open a Support ticket so we can further investigate.

Regarding the new Slack notification, the message you’re seeing is the default success_message, as per the orb source.