Setting up test database credentials with CircleCI with Django is failing

Hello,
I am a bit new to this, so apologies if this question is something basic but I have been unable to get a concrete answer.
I am trying to set up CircleCI with a Django app, python3, and I cannot figure out how to configure the test database credentials for circleci.
The app is deployed on Heroku and I have the database credentials referenced as environmental variables in settings.py:

DATABASES = {
    'default': {
        'ENGINE': 'django.db.backends.postgresql_psycopg2',
        'NAME': env('DATABASE_NAME'),
        'USER': env('DATABASE_USER'),
        'PASSWORD': env('DATABASE_PASSWORD'),
        'HOST': env('DATABASE_HOST'),
        'PORT': env('DATABASE_PORT'),
    }
}

My config.yml for circleci:

version: 2.1

jobs:
  tests:
    docker:
      - image: circleci/python:3.7
        environment:
          DATABASE_URL: postgresql://root@localhost/circle_test?sslmode=disable
      - image: circleci/postgres:9.6.2
        environment:
          POSTGRES_USER: root
          POSTGRES_DB: circle_test
    steps:
      - checkout
      - run: sudo chown -R circleci:circleci /usr/local/bin
      - run: sudo chown -R circleci:circleci /usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages
      - restore_cache:
          key: deps9-{{ .Branch }}-{{ checksum "requirements.txt" }}
      - run:
          name: Install Dependencies
          command: |
            pip3 install --user -r requirements.txt
      - save_cache:
          key: deps9-{{ .Branch }}-{{ checksum "requirements.txt" }}
          paths:
            - ".venv"
            - "/usr/local/bin"
            - "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages"
      - run: python3 manage.py test

workflows:
  main:
    jobs:
      - tests

I am not sure what is supposed to be used for the environmental variables for the test DB, and I can’t seem to find a concrete answer in the docs.