Is it possible to "rebuild in place" without generating a new build?


#1

We sometimes run into a situation where a build has failed due to environmental/transient reasons, not because the code is faulty. When we used Bamboo, we had the option to “rebuild” that build, which would keep the same build number (for example, #15), instead of creating a new one, as CircleCI does.

Is this an option that can be enabled somewhere?


#2

I believe that any rebuild in CircleCI will create a new number for the rebuild, and I’m unaware of any way around that functionality.


#3

Ok, thanks.


#4

This is correct, build numbers are an immutable thing in CircleCI.


#5

The immutability is probably a good thing - it is an audit trail. Being able to re-run in place would be an easy way to hide a destructive operation.


#6

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.