Deploying a Wordpress Site over SSH

Hi everyone! I’m very new to circleci and so far what i’m trying to do is to simply deploy the code from github to my server, don’t need to build anything. I looked up test config example in the docs and modified it:

version: 2
jobs:
  deploy:
    machine:
      enabled: true
    steps:
      - run:
          name: Deploy Over SSH
          command: |
            ssh mytest@mytest.com "<remote deploy command>"

workflows:
  version: 2
  build-and-deploy:
    jobs:
      - deploy:
          filters:
            branches:
              only: master

With this config my workflow is not failing (which is good i guess), but not deploying either. It looks like it can connect to the server. However I cannot figure out how do I specify path to the folder where I want to deploy to. Also, not quite sure what is “”. Thank you!

Could you provide some more info on what exactly you are trying to deploy?

Here is an example of a project that SSH’s into a server and runs some deployment commands (in this case running docker-compose). Depending on your specific situation the approach will be similar but the details will vary.

1 Like

I’m trying to deploy wordpress site to the ubuntu server. Sorry, my expertise in devops is very low. I’ve used https://beanstalkapp.com/ for deploying code for a long time, and over there I just specify the destination where to deploy and it works. I see that with circleci it’s more complicated, but I still would love to figure it out.

Deploying a wordpress site typically means moving the new files on top of the old ones. I would recommend using rsync. You can see an example in that link that I sent you.

rsync -e "ssh -o StrictHostKeyChecking=no" -avz $PATH_TO_WORDPRESS_DIRECTORY_ON_CI $PROD_SERVER:$PATH_TO_WORDPRESS_DIRECTORY_ONSERVER

Just replace those variables with your own.

PATH_TO_WORDPRESS_DIRECTORY_ON_CI – should be the path to where your wordpress files are in CI.