Orb executor parameters not working for Docker auth

I’m tasked with updating my company’s orb to prepare for the Nov 1 requirement to authenticate image pulls from Docker Hub. I’m new to authing Docker executors and new to orbs, but I used the section of the docs on authoring orbs and the page in the docs on authing Docker executors (https://circleci.com/docs/2.0/private-images/) as reference.

I created a minimal example of an orb and a workflow that uses the executor from it. My orb is:

version: 2.1

description: Testing out CircleCI orbs. Contains a command that prints to STDOUT.

executors:
  default:
    docker:
      - image: cimg/node:12.16
        auth:
          username: << parameters.docker-hub-id >>
          password: << parameters.docker-hub-password >>
    parameters:
      docker-hub-id:
        type: env_var_name
        default: DOCKER_HUB_ID
      docker-hub-password:
        type: env_var_name
        default: DOCKER_HUB_PASSWORD

commands:
  greet:
    parameters:
      subject:
        type: string
        default: World!
    steps:
      - run:
          name: Perform Greeting
          command: |
            echo "Hello, << parameters.subject >>"

My workflow that uses my orb is:

version: 2.1

orbs:
  circleci-orb-test: mattwelke/circleci-orb-test@0.0.4

jobs:
  test-orb:
    executor:
      name: circleci-orb-test/default

steps:
      - run:
          name: Do something before using the orb
            echo "Here we go... about to use the orb..."
      - circleci-orb-test/greet:
          subject: CircleCI
      - run:
          name: Do something after using the orb
            echo "Hopefully that worked!"

workflows:
  test-orb:
    jobs:
      - test-orb

Then I added my Docker Hub ID as the value of the environment variable DOCKER_HUB_ID and my Docker Hub password as the value of the envirionment variable DOCKER_HUB_PASSWORD to my project. I also tried a token instead of my password.