How to recognize different events in CircleCI

Hello all,

I have a simple question but unfortunately, I couldn’t find it searching! And I am a newbie in CircleCI and coding so feel free to explain plain things. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

I am using config.yml version 2 for our automated deployment using CircleCI integrated with Bitbucket. I want to know how can I recognize which events from Bitbucket triggered the pipeline? for example was it Push, PR update, or Merge? I have already selected my desired webhooks in the Bitbucket setting.
So in simple words, I need to do something like this in my config.yml:

- run:
      name: Which-event-triggered
      command: |
        if [ $event == "PR_updated" ];
        then
          ./an_script.sh
        else
          ./another_script.sh
        fi

Any bits of help or ideas would be really appreciated. :blush:
Thanks,
Hamed!

Hi @Hamed!

Welcome to Discuss and great question – this is a bit of a tricky one!

To clarify some details, we don’t have a specific event type variable in CircleCI, we receive the webhook and it contains commit details. However, there could be some ways to check for this information.

1. We will automatically set a variable called CIRCLE_PULL_REQUEST if the commit that triggered the build is associated with an open Pull Request.
  2. We have an API endpoint that allows you to get all commit details associated with a build:
    https://circleci.com/docs/api/v1/#single-job

With the above in mind, you could at the very least tell if the commit is associated with a PR with something like:

- run: 
    name: If associated with PR
    command: |
      if [ -n "$CIRCLE_PULL_REQUEST" ]; then
        echo "This is part of a PR!"
      else
        echo "This isn't part of a PR!"
      fi

Alternatively, if the above doesn’t work, you could modify your processes on your end for merging in PR’s and merging to open PR’s to include specific information or key identifier in the commit subject.