How can I make builds conditional on the path(s) that were changed?

I have a repository that defines two Docker images, and has a README for documentation. These images are “expensive” to build (in terms of time and compute cycles), so I only want to build an image if relevant code has changed. I certainly don’t want to build both images just because I committed an update to the README.

How can I configure specific Circle CI jobs to run based on changes on a specific path within my repository?

I’m new to Circle CI, but so far - from browsing the docs and this forum - the answer to this question is either shrug/silence, or a hack.

To ask a more general question: is Circle CI specifically and explicitly opinionated that any commit anywhere in a repo will trigger the entire build process? Philosophically, how does Circle CI approach this scenario?

Hopefully I have simply overlooked some key documentation.

2 Likes

It’s a forum, things get missed. I think the idea here is that CircleCI users help each other in a volunteer capacity, which happens a bit, but not much. Building communities is hard :slightly_smiling_face:

There are several employees that help here, but CI is a bit like web hosting - from an employee perspective, there is a blurry line between giving the right help to use the platform and doing someone else’s CI work for free :thinking:

Food for thought! (Just a free tier user).

1 Like

For speeding up Docker, there is a layer caching device (not free). Or you can build it yourself using a Docker registry - it’s been discussed here a few times.

Edit

I posted about this subject here. It does not use path detection; the idea here is that your Docker builds are sped up to such a degree that path detection is unnecessary.

I think path detection has been discussed. Search for “monorepo” in this forum to see some ideas on that. There is no out-of-the-box support for it, but as with all CI systems, something custom can surely be implemented.

2 Likes