Circle CI Unable to Find ANT Build.xml Targets

Hello,

I am new to Circle CI, in my assigned project there are already implemented Circle CI workflows which utilizes Context’s Environment Variables to pass dynamic Values to ANT Script which finally does the Deployment related activities.

The project has an ANT Target which is working correctly and all the workflows are executing well. The command in a step of config.yml is

ant -lib lib/ -Denvdataroot=$envdataroot -Demail_service_token=$email_service_token -Dselective=$selective -DreleaseName=$releaseName -DCIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_REVISION=$CIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_REVISION -DCIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_BASE_REVISION=$CIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_BASE_REVISION deploymentWithCircleci -buildfile build.xml

I need to enhance this command with an extra set of dynamic variable which I get from Contexts. The new command would look like this -

ant -lib lib/ -Denvdataroot=$envdataroot -Dnewservice_email=$newservice_email -Demail_service_token=$email_service_token -Dselective=$selective -DreleaseName=$releaseName -DCIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_REVISION=$CIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_REVISION -DCIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_BASE_REVISION=$CIRCLECI_PIPELINE_GIT_BASE_REVISION deploymentWithCircleci -buildfile build.xml

But the new command fails throwing an exception BUILD FAILED
Target "****************************" does not exist in the project “Project_Name”.

I debugged by listing down the available targets in the build.xml and the deploymentWithCircleci is available.

Is this a Circle CI bug? I tried providing a hard coded value, like -Dnewservice_email=serviceemail.dummy@gmail.com and this worked correctly with the enhanced command, but it fails when I add a dynamic variable to the Target Command.

Please help, I am not sure what actually is causing it? Is there a step that I am missing here?

Thanks in advance,
Sankalp

Hi @meta-sankalp-vyas,

From your explanation, i understand that you wanted to pass a new option -Dnewservice_email=$newservice_email