Cancels wrong workflow when commit tagged multiple times

This project https://circleci.com/gh/Financial-Times/workflows/biz-ops-schema was accidentally tagged with v2.0.0 on a given commit.

I immediately went to circleci and cancelled the workflow.

I then correctly tagged the commit with v2.0.0-beta.7

On returning to circle I saw that not only had v2.0.0-beta.7 started, but v2.0.0 appeared to have restarted and completed

It’s possible that I’m mistaken as to having successfully cancelled v2.0.0, but the only way I can think to investigate would be for circleci engineers to dig into the logs

Hello, It might have already ran, or you misclicked. The only job I see a cancel on is 1807

I definitely saw a cancel confirmation in the UI

I can’t have clicked on the 2.0.0-beta.7 job as it didn’t exist at the time - I only created that tag after doing all I could to prevent the v2.0.0 deploy

Can you ask you to create a ticket then? This will need a bit more digging in if what you did isn’t what we are seeing.