Moving to 2.0 with a non-dockerized Rails app, `ActiveRecord::NoDatabaseError: FATAL: role "root" does not exist`

rails

I’m moving a standard, non-dockerized, Rails app that is deployed to Heroku to Circle2.0 using the docker executor. I have very little Docker experience, so firstly, is this sensible, or should I be using the machine executor? I like the Docker approach.

I have managed to get many of the basic steps to work (installing dependencies and bundle install) on the host machine. Then I run into trouble when I’m trying to create my database.

When running this line bundle exec rake db:create db:schema:load --trace I get the following error:

** Invoke db:create (first_time)
** Invoke db:load_config (first_time)
** Execute db:load_config
** Execute db:create
FATAL:  role "root" does not exist

So I seem to be connecting to the Postgres container (since there is no Postgres installed in the ruby container), but then for some reason that doesn’t appear to be configured correctly. Is my conclusion correct? In either case, suggestions would be really helpful.

This is my config.yml so far:

version: 2
jobs:
  build:
    docker:
      - image: ruby:2.2.2
        environment:
          RAILS_ENV: test
          RACK_ENV: test
          PG_HOST: localhost
          PG_USER: ubuntu
      - image: postgres:9.4.1
        environment:
          POSTGRES_USER: ubuntu
          POSTGRES_DB: circle_ruby_test

working_directory: ~/copyin
    steps:
      - checkout
      - run: echo "USING CIRCLE 2.0"
      - run:
          name: Install System Dependencies
          command: apt-get update -qq && apt-get install -y build-essential nodejs
      - run:
          name: Install rmagick dependencies
          command: apt-get install libmagickwand-dev imagemagick imagemagick-6.q16 libmagickcore-dev
      - run:
          name: Symlink imagemagick dependencies
          command: ln -s /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/ImageMagick-6.8.9/bin-Q16/Magick-config /usr/bin/Magick-config