Circle 2.0 caching is too limited to be very useful

CircleCI 2.0 offers more control to users over how caching works. Great! But unfortunately, I’m having a tough time getting it to be useful.

Let’s say I’m running CI for a simple NodeJS server, using npm to manage dependencies. I decide to cache node_modules. I have a single master branch. I don’t even use other branches; I just push all my changes to master.

The behavior I would want is to use node_modules from the latest successful master build. I trust npm to generally figure out what to install, even given an arbitrarily stale node_modules directory.

Unfortunately, I can’t see a way to do this with the current caching operations. I can’t cache on just a fixed value or the branch key; the cache would never update. On the other hand, caching on the checksum of package.json would get me an up-to-date cache on most commits where I didn’t change my dependencies, but I’d get no benefit whatsoever, not even a partial cache, if my dependencies did change.

It’s possible I’m missing something essential. And of course, I know Circle 2 is still in beta and like many things about it :smile: But I think the caching operations need some additional attention, so they can handle cases like this.

You should be able to achieve what you want with something like:

- restore_cache:
    keys:
      - projectname-npm-deps-{{ .Branch }}-{{ checksum "package.json" }}
      - projectname-npm-deps-{{ .Branch }}
      - projectname-npm-deps-

See: https://circleci.com/docs/2.0/caching/ for more details.

After the restore_cache step above you run npm install and npm will ‘fill in the gaps’. So let’s say we were only able to restore the last (least specific) cache above - it’s likely that most of your dependencies will be similar and npm install will figure out what else needs installing.